# Imperial College

College Secretary's Office Imperial College London

Room 405, Faculty Building South Kensington Campus SW7 2AZ Tel: +44 (020) 7594 5007 Fax: +44 (0) 7594 8802

a.mitcheson@imperial.ac.uk www.imperial.ac.uk

K. A. Mitcheson OBE MA

31 October 2006

## **COLLEGE NOTICE**

### **RESEARCH EXCELLENCE AWARDS**

The Research Excellence Award scheme is designed to reward research teams that have demonstrated high academic achievement and have significant future potential. Each award will be up to £150K and, unlike a research project grant, is intended for blue-skies research. Up to 4 Awards will be made annually. The Deputy Rector is pleased to announce that this year's Research Excellence Awards will be presented to the following teams:

#### • Molecular Electronic Materials and Devices

Team leader: Professor Donal Bradley FRS

Team members: Dr Jenny Nelson, Dr Ray Murray, Dr Thomas Anthopoulos, Dr Paul Stavrinou, Dr Mariano Campoy-Quiles, Dr Lichun Chen, Dr Xuhua Wang and Dr Ruidong Xia from the Department of Physics, and Professor James Durrant, Professor Andrew de Mello, Dr John de Mello, and Dr Saif Haque from the Department of Chemistry

#### • Robotic Surgery

Team leader: Professor Sir Ara Darzi

Team members: Professor Guang-Zhong Yang and Mr George Mylonas from the Institute of Biomedical Engineering, Dr Parv Sains and Professor Justin Cobb from the Division of Surgery, Oncology, Reproductive Biology and Anaesthetics, Dr Danail Stoyanov from the Department of Computing, and Dr Michael Lambert and Professor Brian Davies from the Department of Mechanical Engineering

#### • Genetic Epidemiology

Team leader: Professor Phillipe Froguel Team members: Dr Alexandra Blakemore from the Division of Medicine, and Professor Marjo-Riitta Jarvelin, Professor David Balding and Professor Paul Elliott from the Division of Epidemiology, Public Health & Primary Care

#### Reconfigurable Supercomputing

Team leader: Professor Wayne Luk

Team members: Dr Philip Leong, Dr Oskar Mencer and Dr Paul Kelly from the Department of Computing, and Professor Peter Cheung and Dr George Constantinides from the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

More information about this award scheme can be found at https://www.imperial.ac.uk/spectrum/about/alerts/resexcellence.htm

K.A. MITCHESON College Secretary

2006/07 - 6