Philippa Gardner

Selected Service

  • Director of the Research Institute in Automated Program Analysis and Verification, 2013-2016
  • Chair of the Awards Committee of the BCS Academy of Computing for the Lovelace medal (senior) and the Roger Needham award (mid-career) for computer science, 2013-2016
  • Organiser of the Royal Society Discussion and Scientific meeting on 'Verified Trustworthy Software Systems' and Specialist Meeting, Imperial College London, Apr 2016
  • Member of the Program Committees for POPL 2016 and BLC 2016
  • Co-organiser of the annual UK Cyber Security Research Conference 2015 with Angela Sasse, Chris Hankin and CESG, the information security arm of GCHQ.
  • Co-organiser of the Concurrency Workshop at Imperial, Jul 2015
  • Organiser of the Fourth Workshop on Formal Methods And Tools for Security (FMATS4) at Microsoft Research, Jun 2015
  • Organiser of a Dagstuhl 2015 meeting on 'Concurrent Verification' with Lars Birkedal, Derek Dreyer and Zhong Shao
  • Co-organiser of the Joint Annual Conference for the Science of Cyber Security, and Automated Analysis and Verification Research Institutes, Oct 2014
  • Co-organiser of the Third Workshop on Formal Methods And Tools for Security (FMATS3) at Microsoft Research, May 2014
  • Invited participant to a Dagstuhl on 'Scripting Languages', 2014
  • Organiser of the informal workshop on concurrency verification with Derek Dryer, associated with POPL 2014
  • Organiser of Luca Cardelli's 60th birthday celebrations with Martin Abadi, Andy Gordon and Radu Mardare, Sep 2014
  • Member of the Steering committees for ETAPS (2013-2016), PLMW, DBPL
  • Editor for the Journal on Foundations and Trends in Programming Languages
  • Co-chair of ESOP 2013, DBPL 2009, Chair of Concur 2004
  • Program Committee member of many major conferences such as POPL, LICS, OOPSLA, ESOP, CONCUR
  • Committee member for Royal Society International Fellowship scheme, 2010-2012
  • Member of EPSRC College between 1999-2009

Selected Awards

  • President & Rector's Award for Excellence in Teaching, Imperial, 2013
  • Microsoft Research/Royal Academy of Engineering Senior Research Fellowship, Imperial, 2005-2010
  • Rector's bonus for Research, Imperial, 2007
  • EPSRC Advanced Fellowship, Cambridge and Imperial, 1997-2000
  • The Royal Society of Edinburgh | BP Research Fellowship, Edinburgh, 1994-1996
  • Science and Engineering Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship, Edinburgh, 1992-1993