iPr0gram — Imperial Programming Lectures

Open to students and staff at Imperial at all levels, the Imperial Programming Lectures (code-named iPr0gram) is a series of lecturers for people who love programming.

Delivered by a number of expert guest lecturers, the lecture series will cover a range of programming-related topics. The intention is that the lectures should be accessible, assuming roughly the background in programming that is gained during the first year of Imperial's BEng/MEng computing course (and thus digestible by advanced first year students, as well as students in later degree years).

Mailing list and Twitter

For news and updates about the series, join the iPr0gram mailing list.

Follow @iPr0gram on Twitter.

Queries, suggestions and feedback

For queries about the series, and to provide feedback or suggestions for topics, please contact Robert Chatley.


The lectures are generally on Fridays, 13:00-14:00, during weeks 2—6, in Huxley 308.

Autumn 2016

Date Title Speaker
Friday Oct 14th Programming with Nothing Tom Stuart
THURSDAY Oct 20th Succession: A Refactoring Story Katrina Owen
Friday Nov 28th Ants on Elixir Nathan Walker
Friday Nov 4th Adventures in Elm Jessica Kerr
Friday Nov 11th SonicPi Sam Aaron

Spring 2017

Date Title Speaker
Friday Jan 20th Functional Composition Chris Ford
Friday Jan 27th (re)Programming Biology Colin Gravill
Friday Feb 3rd Something related to Pony Sylvan Clebsh
Friday Feb 10th Pragmatic Functional Refactoring with Java 8 Raoul-Gabriel Urma
Friday Feb 17th Do Code Smells Hamper Novice Programming? Felienne Hermans


Imperial. If you are an Imperial College student or member of staff, please simply show up to the lectures that interest you. Students and staff from departments other than the Department of Computing are very welcome to attend.

External. If you're going to be in London and would like to come to some of the lectures, you're very welcome to attend; please drop Robert Chatley an email to let him know that you are coming.

Past Lectures

Details of the 2015-16 Series organised by Alastair Donaldson.